Archive for the ‘Club News’ Category

The Clubs’ meeting will be held at 8.00 p.m. on Wednesday 8 Oct, at the Mercure, Hollingbourne.

The Agenda will be emailed to all Clubs in the next few days.

The details of the Kent League Dinner on Friday 14th November may now be seen HERE.

The Kent ACO are pleased to announce that the winter courses for Umpires & Scorers are now confirmed and open for booking.

The Kent League will contribute to fees for Kent League Clubs, please contact Barry Styles for details.

The following courses will be taking place:

Introduction to Scoring – Meopham – 6th November 2014
Introduction to Scoring – The Spitfire St Lawrence Ground, Canterbury –16th November 2014

Level 1 – Blean Village Hall (Canterbury) – starts 23rd October 2014
Level 1 – Metrogas (New Eltham) – starts 15th January 2015
Level 1 – Wateringbury Village Hall – starts 5th February 2015
Level 1a – Blean Village Hall (Canterbury) – starts 15th January 2015

For further details and for booking please see the KCB website:

2014 Champions, Runners up (Promotion) and Relegations

1st XI’s

Champions – Sevenoaks Vine
Runners up – Lordswood
Relegated – Bickley Park and Canterbury

Division 1
Champions – Tunbridge Wells
Runners up – Folkestone
Relegated – Sibton Park and Upchurch

Division 2
Champions – HSBC
Runners up – Dartford
Relegated – Addington and Old Colfeians

Division 3
Champions – Hythe
Runners up – Holmesdale
Relegated – Catford Wanderers and Cowdrey

Division 4
Champions – ODCUACO
Runners up – Ashford Town
Relegated -Blackheath 3 and Rodmersham

Division 5
Champions – Leeds & Broomfield
Runners up – Bapchild
Relegated – High Halstow

2nd XI’s

Champions – Bexley
Runners up – Tunbridge Wells
Relegated – Blackheath and Tenterden

Division 1
Champions – Whitstable
Runners up – Canterbury
Relegated – Lordswood and Gore Court

Division 2
Champions – Orpington
Runners up -Gravesend
Relegated – Old Colfeians and Sibton Park

Division 3
Champions – HSBC
Runners up – Upchurch
Relegated – Addington and Rodmersham

Division 4
Champions – Catford Wanderers
Runners up – Nonington
Relegated – Harvel

Division 5
Champions – Bexleyheath
Runners up – Fridnsbury
Relegated – Deal Victoria and Barns Close

All above subject to ratification of results and scorecards.

After the huge response for the National Players Survey (NPS), and the first glance of outcomes on the data from the survey. The KCB are looking to get a more insightful view on certain areas of which the data from the NPS has highlighted – in short the format of cricket we play on a Saturday and Sunday in Kent.

The KCB have produced a quick survey for them to gain a greater understanding of your thoughts of the format that you play or wish to be playing.

Please take a couple of minutes to complete the survey, which will helps us make informed choices and assist in developing cricket in the county.

Saturday Cricket Survey:-

Sunday Cricket Survey:-

If you have any queries please contact myself on


There are a number of forthcoming matches which may affect promotion, relegation and divisional titles either directly or indirectly. Please be very aware of paras. 17.19 and 17.20 of SN KCL which cover fielding the strongest available side in each XI and attempts to ‘load’ the strength of any XI.

If your club is in any doubt about the risk of breaching either clause please contact the League here in advance.

It would be a shame for all involved if any post-match investigations were required and discovered anomalies that required the application of sanctions.

Whilst your club may consider your game to be unimportant for you, the points scored may have a bearing on others, so we ask all clubs to approach all matches in the correct manner.

Linden Park have won the top Division of the Kent Development League.

Link to the table is

Linden Park play away to Bromley on Sunday and will then face the winners of the Surrey Development League in September.

Rodmersham CC are sad to announce the passing of John Bergin. JB as he was affectionately known had been a member of Rodmersham for over 40 years starting off as a player before fulfilling every role you could think of through to chairman and finally president. His funeral will be held at 2pm on the 3rd September at Bobbing Crematorium, Sittingbourne, with drinks and a cricket tea to celebrate his life held at Rodmersham Cricket Club straight afterwards.

The ECB has some useful tips on encouraging youth cricketers. Please see HERE

Yesterday saw entries open for the 2015 competition, with eligible clubs able to apply in seconds through our new, easy-to-use online application form at